Today I went grocery shopping. For the first time in three years, I looked at myself in the mirror before heading to the store. Wal-Mart workers have seen me in every state of disrepair, rarely ever with makeup on, and only in the most unusual of occasions in something other than the most comfortable clothes I own. My hair? I don’t even want to mention how horrible my hair has looked on these outings.

But today, it occurred to me that I may actually run into an acquaintance. How I’ve managed to live in a city for three years and not ever feel more than totally anonymous at the local Wal-Mart is beyond me. Though I am still largely ignore-able (as long as I’m not pushing a crazy cart), I shocked myself by my willingness to put on makeup for the sole purpose of going to the store. Guess I care what people think of me afterall!

Of course, I didn’t run into anyone I knew at all – but the first time I try to slide by in my around-the-house clothes, no makeup and wonky hair, I know I’ll run into someone. And it will be embarrassing.

Also, since when did I start looking over forty? I want to be carded when I buy wine, people! You insult me! My sister (who is only four years my junior) is still getting carded for rated R movies. Not. Fair.

