Okay, I would like to preface this post by saying I know, I need to take my lunch. Give me a weekend at home to grocery shop, and I will. No need to comment with this helpful suggestion!

My new co-workers are super friendly and hilarious. I’ve already enjoyed working with them and anticipate a continuation of this enjoyment. The only thing is, they’ve got their lunch situation all worked out to their satisfaction already. I’m not entirely sure where I would fit even if I did try to get adopted into a lunch group, and maybe that’s something I won’t figure out for awhile. Fine. The point of this post is in no way to complain about feeling left out, because I don’t at all.

Rather, I’m perfectly satisfied to grab something quick and read Harry Potter (seriously, I’m not kidding when I say this is my 15th time to read Book 3) during my hour-long break. I’ve hit some of the Auburn-area classics (Momma Goldberg’s, Mellow Mushroom [okay technically I haven’t been there during my lunch break, but I’ve been there for lunch at some point in my residence here], etc…). Today I veered back onto the beaten path and into a drive-thru.

Honestly, fast-food and I aren’t great friends. I had to eat a lot of it on the road and I haven’t missed it much in my six months at home. But I have to admit, the thought of Taco Bell at noon today when my stomach was literally digesting itself made my mouth water. Knowing that I would be quizzed about my lunchings upon my return, I was actually reluctant to think outside of the bun and head south of the border for lunch. As much as Yo queria Taco Bell, I was worried about the reaction of my co-workers when I answered the inevitable, “What’d you do for lunch today?

In the end, I decided that it was silly to base my choices off of some fanciful idea that it is embarrassing to eat, nay enjoy Taco Bell. So what? I like it!

That lasted all the way through my burrito. Back in the parking lot at work, I succumbed to another wave of shame for my lunch doings and left the remnants of my Taco Bell drink in the car. When the first person asked what I’d done for lunch, I responded, “Oh, just got some fast food.” Much to my surprise, he didn’t question me further.

I should have known it was too good to be true as the next person to ask about my lunch wasn’t thrown by  my fast-food response and probed further. “What sort of fast-food?”

Dammit. “Taco Bell.”

::::::co-worker pulls a face somewhere between grimace and disgust:::::::  “Ooooh.”

“Yeah…”

I quickly changed the subject to health insurance, which I’ll be signing up for at New Employee Orientation tomorrow. Thankfully, that was a good enough distraction and we didn’t ever  make it back to my lunch choice.

But I bet he’ll think of me as the girl who’s willing to eat Taco Bell in the middle of the day from now on. Gastrointestinal issues be damned, it’s better than starving.

