Okay. I hate myself in advance for you. This is one of the most embarrassing admissions I’ve made on this platform. But I’ve said enough of my love of Miley Cyrus and Justin Timberlake (okay, I haven’t fully admitted my feelings regarding JT as of yet, but love is one of the many and varied emotions he evokes in me) that a deep appreciation for Ke$ha’s “music” shouldn’t come as much of a surprise to anyone.

Here’s the thing. She doesn’t do a lot of actual singing when she sings. And she’s basically one of the um…(is it slander or libel when it’s in writing?)…skankiest pop stars I’ve ever laid eyes on. I’m not sure what I’m worried about because I think “skank” is the look she’s going after. I don’t see how it can’t be. Classy is not a word she appears to be familiar with. In any sense of the word. Except the sense in which it is spelled this way: Klassy.

I recently got forwarded a link to Ke$ha’s ten trashiest lyrics. Or was it stupidest? I dunno. But you know, it’s one of the reasons WHY I love her. She’s unrepentant in her total stupid grossness. She talks about brushing her teeth “with a bottle of Jack,” which actually sorta makes sense. Doesn’t alcohol kill germs and stuff? More people should try it. And she wants a dude that looks like Mick Jagger? Really? I can’t figure that one out. And according to her Blah Blah song, she has no appreciation at all for a guy who likes to talk. She’s missing out, but at the same time, she’s hilarious. And she’s real. Well, I guess somebody else probably wrote all her songs (oh my, do I have no journalistic standards? It would take about ten key strokes to find out if she had any input into her music, and it probably would have taken less time than constructing this aside. Really? So sad), but her songs are honest. She is a young woman who really just enjoys youthful frivolity and excess. She doesn’t try to hide it. There’s something to be respected in that sort of self understanding. She doesn’t hide her true colors. She embraces them. Plus, her song called Dinosaur about old dudes hitting on her is perhaps the funniest EVER musical expression not intended to be funny. Or at least I don’t think it was intended to be funny (but what do I know?).

Her songs are catchy (or should I say, ‘katchy’) and silly and rebellious and fun. She’s perfected the skill of talking in a way that sort of resembles singing and I think her speaking voice is very intriguing. The friend who sent me the link to her stupid lyrics said point-blank that poor Ke$ha can’t sing. I don’t know about that. I’m no Simon Cowell. I don’t always know the difference between fantastic and mediocre singing when I hear it (though I’d like to say that I can hear it when people sing off-key), so I won’t claim to say she’s got the best voice on the radio. I don’t think that (not even close), but I do turn up the volume when I hear one of her songs come on. We all know, LizHarrell is addicted to crap pop music and the people who read this blog probably fall into one of two camps – 1) who is Ke$ha?, or 2) how can you listen to that crap?, so I’m not really in much hope that I’ll have many supporters on this one. All I can say is that the CD player in my car is broke (“broke” instead of “broken” is an intentional typo to show how down I am with the hip young lingo), I have an iPod shuffle that used to connect to my radio but I don’t know where the cord is anymore, and I like to dance while I drive. Perhaps not good enough excuses for most of you, but I’m addicted to pop now. I can’t stop!

Also, Ke$ha is totally bad ass. I mean, she has a dollar sign in her name. How awesome is that?

