Okay, folks, this is going to take me literally FOREVER to type up in the stolen moments I have on Hubby’s computer (plus the fact that there are at least sixty books on this list), but here goes.

I intend to read the following books to my Six Year Old (note that I’ve split up certain series based on reading/maturity levels):

  • Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Avonlea by Lucy Maud Montgomery
  • James and the Giant Peach, Matilda and The BFG by Roald Dahl
  • My Side of the Mountain and The Other Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George
  • The Secret Garden and A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett   OR   Black Beauty by Anna Sewell
  • The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe; Prince Caspian; The Voyage of the Dawn Treader; The Magician’s Nephew by C.S.  Lewis

Seven Year Old:

  • A Wrinkle in Time, A Wind in the Door, and A Swiftly Tilting Planet by Madeline L’Engle
  • Little House in the Big Woods, Farmer Boy, Little House on the Prairie, On the Banks of Plum Creek, By the Shores of Silver Lake, The Long Winter, Little Town on the Prairie, and These Happy Golden Years by Laura Ingalls Wilder
  • The City of Ember, The People of Sparks, The Prophet of Yonwood, and The Diamond of Darkhold by Jeanne DuPrau
  • The Island of the Blue Dolphins and Zia by Scott O’Dell

Eight Year Old:

  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling
  • Hatchet and The River by Gary Paulsen
  • Anne of the Island and Anne of Windy Poplars by Lucy Maud Montgomery   OR   Holes by Louis Sachar
  • Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
  • Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll

Nine Year Old:

  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban and Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling
  • The Silver Chair, The Horse and His Boy, and The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis
  • Eragon, Eldest, and Brisingr by Christopher Paolini
  • Anne’s House of Dreams and Anne of Ingleside by Lucy Maud Montgomery   OR   The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

Ten Year Old:

  • Many Waters by Madeline L’Engle
  • The Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers, and The Return of the King by J.R.R Tolkien
  • Animal Farm and 1984 by George Orwell

At which point I fear my child will be tired of the nightly ritual and will want to read on his/her own. In this case, I’ve made a list of suggestions (ie, “You should read these before you finish middle school, and whatever else you want to read.”), though I feel like some of the themes in these might be slightly mature for middle school aged kids, I suppose it will all depend on how mature I feel like my kids are. Anyway…

Middle School Reading:

  • Romeo and Juliet and Hamlet by William Shakespeare
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
  • The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  • Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  • Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the PhoenixHarry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling
  • “The Metamorphosis” by Franz Kafka {I have a host of other wonderful short stories that I’d like to add, but this is the most important, I think}
  • Farenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

9th Grade:

  • Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
  • Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe
  • As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner
  • The Turn of the Screw by Henry James
  • Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  • Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens
  • Oedipus Rex by Sophocles

10th Grade:

  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
  • Uncle Tom’s Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe
  • The Grapes of Wrath and East of Eden by John Steinbeck
  • A Separate Peace by John Knowles
  • The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

11th Grade:

  • The Shadow of the Wind and Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
  • Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
  • Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
  • Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood

12th Grade:

  • The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley   OR  The Death of King Arthur by Thomas Mallory
  • Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk
  • Dharma Bums by Jack Kerouac
  • The Portrait of Dorain Gray by Oscar Wilde

This felt like an absurdly long list when I wrote it by hand the other day, but it feels more manageable in this form. I am certain I’ve left off some of my favorite books, or books that I should include but forgot about, or books that I really ought to read and consider putting on the list somewhere. I’m always open to recommendations! I do love to read.

