What’s the point of a computer without internet? Makes it difficult to do just about anything useful. I’m writing a blog post now, in a word processor. How old school! Though if I’m actually being honest with myself, I have written several of my last posts in Microsoft Word. It’s a format I’m comfortable with and have been using for(basically)ever. I think the early years were Word Perfect, but my dad would have to be the one to confirm that. Anyway, at least I’m not attempting to write my posts by hand. On paper. Now that would be old school.

But I’m surprised by how heavily I rely on the internet. I probably spend 65% of my waking hours on the computer, checking my email, [note: I’d like to go ahead and add a link to my last post, but I can’t do that without the internet!] looking at blog stats and writing new posts, reading others’ blogs, chatting with buddies, researching businesses…the list is lengthy. And now all I can think to do with my computer is write.

Not that writing isn’t a productive use of my time – it is. Sharpening my skills and all that. I imagine that I wouldn’t get through a post today had it not been for a lapse in internet connection.

Which, now MANY hours later, has clearly been fixed because it took me from 9:30am (the time of  conception of this post) to now, nearly 5pm, to get back to it. I’m a busy lady! I’m working two jobs! But I’ll tell you, a good portion of what kept me busy today was on the internet. I know I’m not saying anything new and exciting in my praising the wonders of cyberspace, but really, how awesome is the instant connectivity, communication, and the seemingly endless availability of information that comes with an internet connection?

Which is why, when I erect my tent in the woods to avoid real life, an internet connection is a real must have. Right along with water, food, and firewood.

Surprisingly, though, I spent a good deal of my weekend completely unhooked. It was a holiday weekend and my phone was dead half the time (not really a stretch if you know me… chargers are hard to keep up with and considering my deep hatred for the phone…why not let it die?) but more curiously, my laptop was closed much of the weekend. Not all – there was a great deal of football being watched this weekend for which I somehow missed inheriting the love my mother and sister share for the excessive watching of. (That sentence really doesn’t make sense, but I’m acknowledging it, so that makes it okay, right?) So I had to do something and the internet provided endless fun.

Despite these few hours of football induced web-surfing, I was surprised at what little time I spent with computer in lap. I guess that just goes to show how much I enjoyed the company and how un-compelled I felt to do any work whatsoever.

Even so, after this holiday of thanks, I must say that I am VERY thankful for the internet (and you should be too! How else would you get to read my every thought?)!

