I’ve just been flipping through my recent drafts over here on the ol’ blog and found this entry with the title, “Oh Bother…”

And nothing at all in the post. 

I wonder what I was going for on May 27th, 2009 at 12:47 am when I started writing this post? Or rather, titled this post and then gave up completely?

I feel like I do a fair amount of whining on this platform so I’ll refrain from going through the many things that could have caused me to title a post “Oh Bother…”

Instead, I’m going to write about Winnie the Pooh, the ultimate utterer of the phrase, “Oh, Bother.” There are many things I love about Winnie, but his modest wisdom is what draws me to him as an adult. He thought quite profoundly for a teddy bear with fluff for brains. For instance, I find a lot of hope in this quote:

“Well,” said Pooh, “what I like best –” and then he had to stop and think. Because although Eating Honey was a very good thing to do, there was a moment just before you began to eat it that was better than when you were, but he didn’t know what it was called.”

Well, Pooh, I do. It’s called anticipation. It’s what makes delayed gratification gratifying in and of itself. It’s a good lesson for the little ones, not to mention we adults who tend to wish our lives away. I’m very guilty of wishing my life away…or being too focused on the end result and not enjoying the process of getting there. Which leads me to another classic Pooh pearl of wisdom:

“Sometimes, if you stand on the bottom rail of a bridge and lean over to watch the river slipping slowly away beneath you, you will suddenly know everything there is to be known. […] Rivers know this: there is no hurry. We shall get there someday.”

That’s a comforting thought. I know I’m not there yet (and I seriously doubt many people can truthfully claim they’ve “arrived”), but with patience and appreciation for the process, I’ll get closer. Even though things are often hard and I’m frequently tempted to say things much more harsh than “Oh Bother…” I know I’ll never get this time back. I’ve got to enjoy what God’s given me to enjoy and appreciate the gifts I’ve been given. At least I’ve got something more than fluff filling up my head!

