It’s almost 10pm on August 3rd.

Anyone remember that August 1st deadline I gave myself for my book? It came. It went. But I promise I was working the whole time. In fact, when I FINALLY finished about ten minutes ago, my fingers were so used to typing that I felt I really must continue writing. Must. Not. Stop.

I’m so elated by the completion of the edit and rewrite I knew needed to be done that there’s no way I’m going to sleep anytime soon. I worked on the book for twelve hours today, three yesterday, and about eight the day before. It’s amazing how much I love this work. For a long time I was completely exhausted by the mere idea of doing this rewrite. I couldn’t make myself start. And then, all of a sudden, it hit me. I started writing again. And then, I couldn’t stop.

I’ve got some good readers signed on to read through what will hopefully (aside from minor fixes and typos) be the final draft. By the end of this week, I’m determined to send it off to at least three agents. Maybe two. I know from reading his blog that one of the agents is out of town this week. I may wait another week to query him so he has some time to catch up. But for real, I’m gonna do it. And darn it, I’m getting myself an agent. It’s going to happen.

Anyway, since I published my deadline on the blog, I thought it would be fair to let you folks know that I held up my end of the bargain. Not that y’all had any end to hold up, but… well whatever. That was a pretty thin little metaphor anyway.

I’ll make sure to let y’all know how the query process goes. Keep your fingers crossed!!