In the art publishing world, a retrospective is a book that looks back at an artist’s career and discusses their work and the impact the artist has had on the art world. Usually this is the sort of book that is written after the artist has passed on to that blank canvas in the sky.

I think this is a valuable tool to use in one’s personal life as well. Granted, it won’t help much if you wait to until you’re on death’s doorstep to compose one, so I think perhaps it might be more appropriately labeled a partial retrospective. I feel like I got started on one the day I turned 26 and posted on what I’ve done up to this point. I think there may have been one or two things on there that were more things I hadn’t done, like cause a car accident or get a ticket. But I got to thinking today about one in particular: I’d never met a celebrity. It’s not like this became a goal for me, but coincidentally today, I did meet a celebrity – Amber Tamblyn. She surprisingly made an appearance at my sales conference today presenting her second book of poetry. So I thought (on my hour long subway adventure back to my hotel) that I could check that off my “list.”

But I got to thinking that I don’t really have a list of things I want to do. I’ve got goals of course, but I am thinking of something more akin to a “bucket list” – although I hate that term and the morbidity it suggests. Perhaps I could call it a “futurespective list.” Instead of looking back, I want to look forward. Here’s some what I want to do:

  1. I’d like to sell a painting or some sort of work of art. I don’t really care if it’s a lot of money, I just think it would be really cool to do that.
  2. I want to eat at a Food Network star’s restaurant. Doesn’t really matter which one, although my preferences would be Paula Deen or Emeril Lagasse.
  3. I want to learn how to make quilts. Or even learn how to thread my sewing machine!
  4. I’d like to travel to the Far East and learn to speak Chinese, at least a little.
  5. I want to own a pair of shoes that costs over $200.
  6. I would like to have a successful vegetable garden that produces food, and good food, at that.
  7. It should go without saying, but I want to get my book published and be honored with something like a three book deal with one of the big seven publishers.
  8. I want to read and understand Ulysses by James Joyce.
  9. I’d like to set foot on at least 5 of the continents. I’ve got nothing against the arctic I’m just not real interested in visiting and freezing my butt off. No thanks!
  10. I really want to find some sort of philanthropic activity that really inspires me and get involved. I haven’t found a cause I’m really excited about, but there are so many wonderful causes out there! I think it’s so important, and yet I’ve not done anything to get involved yet. I’m open to suggestions!

I think this “futurespective” isn’t as comprehensive as I’d like, but at the same time, I had to definitely push myself to come up with ten. Anybody else have a futurespective list or some “goals” you want to achieve? I am curious to hear if my list is a list that would appeal to most people, or if I have an off the wall sort of list that no one else has interest in. Can’t wait to read your comments 🙂

