I have a problem (I’m sure no one is surprised to hear that). In the past five years, pretty much nothing I’ve planned to do has happened exactly the way I’ve intended it to. This is one of the most frustrating things for me to deal with – once plans are set I become ridiculously inflexible. I hate changing plans. But change they did, and often.

As a result of this, I’ve had to change tactics. I’ve learned that if I don’t set plans, being flexible is a lot easier. I like plans. In fact, I used to plan my day by the half hour everday even weekends. I was an incredibly productive person.

So, in exchange for a smidgen of productivity, I’ve given up my obsessive planning to become a more flexible person. I set appointments with my job because otherwise, I’d make zero money, but other than that, I keep my planning to a minimum. I tend to think in a very general sense about where I plan to be each week, but if that “plan” brings to a city where I have family or friends to interact with, I tell them when(ish) I’ll be in town and say, “I’d love to hang out, but I don’t know when.” But if there is a specific event for which my presence is requested, things get a bit more complex. I tend to put it on my calendar and say, “I’m not sure yet if I can attend.”

I hear from the friends that this is annoying. I can definitely understand that perspective. I wonder if it is worth my sanity, though? This past weekend I made an attempt at real, honest to goodness plans, almost all of which fell through in some aspect or another. Even my appointments from last week got rescheduled!

And there were definitely moments of true frustration, but I did learn something: it doesn’t suck that bad to be flexible even after plans have been made. I can try to commit, as long as everyone understands that commitment with me comes with an unwritten (well, now it’s written) risk: it’s all gonna fall apart. But don’t worry, I’m pretty good at putting things back together again!

