I had the good fortune this past weekend to spend loads of quality time with some very good friends. This makes me very happy. I would like to make a few comments about said Fun Times:

  • I am a complete lightweight when it comes to drinking wine. It takes almost less than a glass to make me the silliest person on the face of the planet. Think… Lydia Bennett from Pride and Prejudice. Or… Phoebe from Friends.
  • I love red meat. I have been quasi-attempting to give up red meat for Lent. As I quipped to Dear Friend last night while I scarfed down a terrific hamburger, I’ve now given up Lent for Lent.
  • Awkward waiters make me anxious. More anxious than normal, that is. While I’m usually unlikely to go out of my way to ask a favor from a waiter, this weekend I flat out refused to ask for a to-go cup of my drink because 1) our waiter needed a hearing aid and 2) I’m already awkward enough for the both of us.
  • My supermodel runway walk sucks.
  • Possible job dis-satisfaction is not limited to me. Nor is the overwhelming desire to return to school, even for no reason whatsoever.
  • I really need to make some progress with this stupid diet I’m doing. I’ve been “fat and happily married” for a few too many years now. My skinny married and skinny unmarried friends are beginning to put me to shame. Plus, I think with a little work, my supermodel runway walk could become really kickin’ and I could apply to America’s Next Top Model “Short People” edition after all.

Special Thanks to: Dear Friend and Young Buck (her lovely husband, as named by my Hubby, whom they call Pappy for his over-thirty status) for some killer hamburgers, Funky Friend (more on her to come in future posts, I’m sure) for inviting me to dog-sit, eat and become ridiculously intoxicated, and Fabulous Friend for the dash of culture and deep conversation that rounded off a lovely weekend with friends! Y’all rock!