I love television. I am hopelessly addicted and feel that I need some sort of support group. Here is my short list:

House, Bones, Fringe, 24, 30 Rock, The Office, Heroes, Smallville, America’s Next Top Model, Privileged, Ugly Betty, Lost, The Bold and the Beautiful, Doctor Who, Hannah Montana, and occasional reality programs that strike my fancy.

I think I have a problem.

The only redeeming thing I can say for myself is that my husband and I just recently canceled our television service, having recently discovered the joys of internet television viewing. But really, what’s the difference? Sure, we save a ridiculous amount of money every month, but I’m still wasting tons of time with this pointless obsession.

But is it really such a waste? At one time, I might have had an argument to, though somewhat lamely, support my obsession. When I worked in an office, I had something to discuss enthusiastically with my coworkers, a shared experience that helped me forge relationships. It gave me something to talk about when my unfortunate shyness got a little overwhelming.

What’s my excuse now? I don’t really have one, as I’m finding that most of the people I work with now are above watching TV. They don’t have the time. They find it inane. They think television as a genre is dead. They prefer to read. They are just too good darn for that.

Right. They secretly crush on Ryan Seacrest. I just know it.

